Bamfield Marine Sciences Centre (BMSC) was established in 1972 by the Western Canadian Universities Marine Sciences Society (WCUMSS) in order to provide a permanent base for marine and coastal-oriented field operations on the west coast of Canada. WCUMSS is a not-for-profit, registered Canadian charity that is responsible for the oversight and governance of the BMSC.

WCUMSS has a mandate to:

  • Provide world-class research infrastructure and support for Canadian and international researchers on the west coast of Canada;

  • Offer undergraduate and graduate courses and programs;

  • Offer training opportunities and in residence programs to schools, colleges, First Nations and other public groups.

Meet WCUMSS President, David H. Turpin CM, PhD, LLD, DSc, FRSC

Trained as a biological oceanographer Dr. Turpin’s connection to BMSC dates back to the 1970s. During his career he served as President of both the University of Alberta and the University of Victoria. Prior to these positions he was the VP Academic at Queen’s University, Dean of Arts and Science at Queen’s, and Head of the Botany Department at UBC. His research interests in primary production and phytoplankton resource competition led to a major research program designed to understand the physiological and biochemical interactions between photosynthesis, respiration and nitrogen assimilation.

In addition to his passion for marine and coastal science, David and his wife Suromitra Sanatani share a commitment to international development and global citizenship which has led to educational and research partnerships around the world. Dave has chaired the World University Service of Canada and serves on the Board of CARE Canada. In recognition of this commitment the University of Alberta established the David Turpin and Suromitra Sanatani Scholarship for Refugees and Displaced Persons.

For his contributions to research Dr. Turpin was awarded the Steacie Fellowship and elected to the Royal Society of Canada. His service to the broader community has been recognized with the Order of Canada and the Queen’s Golden and Diamond Jubilee Medals.